Shanghai
IB curriculum
Ages 2 to 18

Reviews

Western International School of Shanghai Verified badge.pink.sm

4.8 (based on 15 reviews)

Western International School of Shanghai is a leading international school in Shanghai and the first and only full continuum World IB School in Mainland China offering the four programmes of the International Baccalaureate IBPYP, IBMYP, IBDP and IBCP.

Average Rating

4.8
Very Good
Breakdown of the average rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Very Good
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Very Good
Based on 15 reviews

15 reviews available for Western International School of Shanghai Add your own Review

Edward

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

We have been with WISS for five years already and it's been an amazing journey. It's not only for our kids, but also for us as parents living as expats in this country. There are so many things you could do and you feel like you are part of the community. Truly, as an expat living thousands of miles away from the State, we feel like home here.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Very Good
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Blaise

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

Just got my daughter transferred from a public school (guojibu) to WISS. It's a big hassle but we thought we want a true international environment for our kids and a more relaxed and fun learning atmosphere.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Very Good
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Jessica V.B.

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

Me and my husband were looking for an international school after deciding to move back to Shanghai. We saw the article on SmartShanghai and decided to schedule a tour right away. Definitely love the school and staff. We believe that our kids are going to love it and transition smoothly.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Good
Administration - Fantastic

Aldrin T.

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

My company relocated me to Shanghai so we had to look for a new school for our son. There are quite a few options in Shanghai and we decided to go with WISS in the end as we love the Stoke programme and all the other amazing student activities they have there.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Joseph JJ D.

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

WISS have done an amazing job helping my kid settle in China and have supported his learning of Mandarin fantastically.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Nikolai P.

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

WISS do a really good job of supporting kid's development while giving them the space to be independent and learn responsibility. Couldn't be happier with their approach to teaching!

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Very Good
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Renaldo

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

The whole IB programme took a little bit of research to get our heads around, but its delivery at WISS and the quality of teaching that's coming with it are absolutely amazing. Really happy with my son's learning and he seems to be really enthusiastic about school now.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Very Good

Jeffrey

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

There's so much for kids to do at this school! Would definitely recommend.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Samir

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

I'm was always a bit apprehensive about new schools, especially after moving to a new country, but I have to say that we definitely made the right decision putting our daughter into WISS. The school made us feel really welcome, and really put our minds at ease knowing our daughter is in safe hands.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Very Good
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Katie

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

As a parent, I cannot say enough good things about WISS and would highly recommend this great school to anyone. Teachers are highly qualified. They create great learning atmosphere and my kids are getting a real interntional experience.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Ana

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

Fabulous school. WISS has everything any parent can only dream about. Great teachers and school spirit. My son enjoys afterschool activities a lot but the academics is also great. Top school in Shanghai.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Mary

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

WISS is simply amazing. We love this school! Great community. Dedicated teachers. Our daughter has learned so much here. And we have made lifelong friends with many families.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Very Good

Greg

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

WISS is an outstanding school. Ms Karen Stevens has been my kid's all timefavorite teacher and has inspired a love for studying! Excellent communication, great extracurricular activities, friendly office staff.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Vikki

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, May 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

I’m here go let everyone know
1) what an amazing school this is!
2) A HUGE shout out to Ms Libby Cotter (grade 5 teacher) for her compassion and understanding and willingness to do anything to help my sons. They are very happy to go to school every day and I can feel and tell that they are being taken good care of by everyone there at WISS.
It’s just an amazing school!!!

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Very Good

Stephanie

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Western International School of Shanghai, April 2021
Rating
- Fantastic

WISS is a great school, for my kids and for me and my husband as well. It is more than just a school, it's a community where people around the world come along and become close friends. IB system is very different from the school system of where I come from, it gives children room to grow, not just stuff all those knowledge from textbook to their mind, but to inspire them and allow them to develop in their own way, with appropriate and personalized guidance.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Add your own review of Western International School of Shanghai

What do you think about the school as a whole?
Your score: *
 
*
And what do you think about each of these aspects of the school? (optional)
Teachers
 
Academics
 
Facilities
 
School Atmosphere
 
Administration and Interaction with the School
 
Thank you! We are almost ready to submit your Review

We will use your email only to verify your review: your email will not be shown anywhere in the page, and we will not send you any other emails, newsletters or any marketing.

See all the information about Western International School of Shanghai

CurriculumIB
Language of instructionEnglish
Age RangeAges 2 to 18
Reviews: 4.8
Social Media:
Accreditations & Memberships