IB and Catholic
Ages 2 to 18

Reviews

Tunas Muda School

4.3 (based on 12 reviews)

Full review by michael

michael

Rating
- Fantastic
Student in Tunas Muda School, May 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

I was a student in Tunas Muda School since I was Kindergarten until Year 12. So I can say that I'd been in the school for quite a long time. It was one of the first and the best IB schools in Jakarta. The teachers and the IB programme really helped me through my university years. Still so grateful my parents took me there. Now I'm looking for a school for my 3-year-old daughter. As a proud alumnus, I will truly consider Tunas Muda as one of my choices.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Very Good

11 other reviews for Tunas Muda School

Show reviews left by:

Dimas Tjahjadi

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, July 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

Tunas Muda School is arguably the best IB schools in West Jakarta and one of the better IB schools in Jakarta. My wife and I visited so many schools when we were exploring options and we were drawn by the community that Tunas Muda has built. They werent built by a conglomerate company, or was a success overnight, but they kept on building slowly, maintaining that feeling of closeness that they seem to have when they were smaller.

Now as an established school, we can feel
the difference compared to these other conglomerate-based school chains. From the beginning, we understood that we could not expect perfect teachers, and we feel that the majority of the teaching team is more than qualified to be teaching the IB curriculum.

With growth of course comes new challenges with logistics, traffic, and other things, but none of that matters much as we didn’t enrol to a school for good traffic, but for the best environment for our children to grow in.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Fransisca

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, June 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

My kid has been in Tunas Muda for 5 years and counting. So far I have no complaints with TM at all. Everything's satisfying. They really listen to us parents and our inputs. The teachers take care of my kid and the other students like their own children. The PYP program really focuses on our children's development. At first of course I compared TM to other international schools in Jakarta. But with their IB curriculum and being a catholic school, I'm sure I made the right choice.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Lusiana Widjaja

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, April 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

Tunas Muda School has provide a good support for my son during his university application process. They have counsellor who help consult and guides my son in understanding his talent, as well as searching for his dream university. Not only that, school counselor also helps in the process of applying to university.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Eva

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, April 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

My daughter joined Tunas Muda School during the COVID Pandemic. It was never been an easy journey at the beginning for her and also myself. But the teacher are very supportive and helpful; all materials have been prepared from school and we just need to follow the guidelines provided.. Schools and teacher try to give the best experience for our daughter even though we choose a distance learning.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Tamara

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, March 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

Knowing TM as one of the first schools in West Jakarta to implement the IB, and all the primary, secondary programs rather than only 1 program.

I’m happy with the experience so far. My daughter used to go to a national curriculum school, and was really unhappy. But her experience at TM was completely different. Its definitely hard, but she enjoyed the learning process, and she was able to make amazing projects during her final project in year 10. I was definitely amazed because this was something that her teachers at her previous school told her that she couldn’t do. I feel like the IB program at TM has definitely helped her reach this potential

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Janita L

Rating
- Very Good
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, March 2022
Rating
- Very Good

What separates TM from other schools is probably that "closeness" between the community. Many international schools nowadays feel more like a corporation than a community, but that is not the case at TM.

Joining from Year 1, the PYP program from IB is alien to many of us parents, because of how different it is to other curriculums. Even now, I think many parents are still confused about the nature of the program. But having experienced it, I feel the program is one that is very underrated and needs more socialization.

This program, together with the community at TM made our experience very enjoyable throughout the years. Now that my son has entered secondary, the transition was also smooth and with the help of all the teachers & counselors, I feel my son will be able to adapt well and even do well moving forward.

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Very Good
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Angelica Ong

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, February 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

Tunas Muda feels like a family to me. They have been taking care of my children for years now. Thank you TM!

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Fantastic
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Fantastic

Budi Tedjasasmita

Rating
- Fantastic
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, February 2022
Rating
- Fantastic

My children have been students in Tunas Muda since they were toddlers.
I think what they have done are excellent, especially during the virtual session for over a year curriculum. They are still able to maintain the engagement with the kids and focus for the education progress. Even I’ve seen a good learning progress of our children for over past year. Well done Tunas Muda!

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Fantastic
Teachers - Fantastic
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Fantastic

Herman

Rating
- Very Good
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, August 2021
Rating
- Very Good

I am an Indonesian Nationality and parents of two children studied in Tunas Muda Kedoya.

Back in 2015, as parents who try to find good school for our children, we have visit & survey many school in jakarta & tangerang, and finally decided to send our children to Tunas Muda due to following reason:

1. it is Catholic School.
2. IB Curriculum, but please parents have to learn & understand the curriculum and prepare that the IB is different compare to other curriculum, for instance Cambridge or local National curriculum. And teaching method is also different.
Once I took my parents ( grandpa & grandma) to see how their granddaughter doing at school and both of my parents were shocked :) they said that children is rather playing at school instead of studying haha..
3. In early year of school ( Year1) my daughter was very happy at school and at weekend she say could not wait fo... read full review

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Very Good
Teachers - Very Good
Academics - Fantastic
Facilities - Very Good
School Atmosphere - Fantastic
Administration - Very Good

Jason Suryadi

Rating
- Average
Student in Tunas Muda School, November 2020
Rating
- Average

To be honest, I never have been in the school for very long. But for my experiences in those school years, it was quite terrible as the teaching staff do not follow the schools idea and vision. Even though, that there were some good teachers. Some of those teachers left for God I don't know why. Although they hold religious services at the school, it is far from what I consider a Catholic school as there are other Catholic schools around Jakarta. As for the facilities, they don't really keep it maintained at all despite the school earning over billions of money for teaching the students. But the school admin is one place that I really feel safe as the staff there are very nice and welcoming towards the students. I expected more from a school that is half as much as very-very good schools. But other than the school, the students, security, and others are very nice people. But I re... read full review

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Average
Teachers - Average
Academics - Average
Facilities - Terrible
School Atmosphere - Good
Administration - Terrible

Ben Carson

Rating
- Average
Parent of a student in Tunas Muda School, October 2020
Rating
- Average

Tunas is a nice community of students and parents, Unfortunately, they are behind in their school teaching methodology. Most of their teaching staff is unqualified and mediocre as instructors. They do not adhere to the principles of being a "catholic school" and fail to that attempt. The Head of school, bless her soul, has been there too long and lacks the pizzaz to make the school more engaging. Basically she needs to bring the school to this century of active and engaging learning. But she is a "yes" person to the schoo owner lack in any education acumen. I would not recommend this school to anyone who wants their student to get a good education. Look at the neighboring Christian schools that are far better: IPEKA, Raffles, Springfield, National High and others

Breakdown of rating
Overall opinion - Terrible
Teachers - Average
Academics - Average
Facilities - Terrible
School Atmosphere - Very Good
Administration - Terrible

Add your own review of Tunas Muda School

What do you think about the school as a whole?
Your score: *
 
*
And what do you think about each of these aspects of the school? (optional)
Teachers
 
Academics
 
Facilities
 
School Atmosphere
 
Administration and Interaction with the School
 
Thank you! We are almost ready to submit your Review

We will use your email only to verify your review: your email will not be shown anywhere in the page, and we will not send you any other emails, newsletters or any marketing.

Make sure to enter a valid email address; you will need to click on a confirmation email we will send you there.

See all the information about Tunas Muda School

CityJakarta
CurriculumsIB and Catholic
Language of instructionEnglish
Age RangeAges 2 to 18
Yearly fees: Not public
Reviews: 4.3
Contact Page:
Social Media: